fatkid

2 Tone Jig Heads

Hello, I'm new to this page and just getting started making bucktails for saltwater use. I'm making Jig heads from 3/8oz roundheads to 8oz Ultra Minnows. I'm set up with a fluid bed and I'm running 6 colors. My question is what is the best way to powder coat a 2 tone head? I tried heating up a painted head and tapping a brush but I wasn't getting a good coating on or it was clumpy. I also tried tapeing off an area and re dipping and that didn't turn out very good either. If anyone has any idea of what I should be doing I would appreciate it.

Thanks 

Cadman, the tapping guru, said it took him 3 years to learn how to do that.  I've been doing it off and on for about a year and it is not an easy process but it is coming.  I'll say use just a tad of paint and tap use more if needed.  I put it on painted jig heads that haven't been baked heating the area I want with my heat gun.

There was a big post about it a while back.  Look for it and you may get some better ideas than I have here.

Nothing personal against Cadman but 3 years is a long time to learn a technique. Simply airbrush your 2-tone jig heads  w/ consistent results in a quick and timely manner-if you insist. Epoxy coat them for durability. Even if you master the tap and coat,two color technique, you still have to coat them w/ epoxy for durability.

Hello, I'm new to this page and just getting started making bucktails for saltwater use. I'm making Jig heads from 3/8oz roundheads to 8oz Ultra Minnows. I'm set up with a fluid bed and I'm running 6 colors. My question is what is the best way to powder coat a 2 tone head? I tried heating up a painted head and tapping a brush but I wasn't getting a good coating on or it was clumpy. I also tried tapeing off an area and re dipping and that didn't turn out very good either. If anyone has any idea of what I should be doing I would appreciate it.

Thanks