Painter1

Hot Plastic Discoloring ?

I am having a lot of trouble with color change or "ambering".   Please see example picture below.  

Details for this pour;

8 cups CC soft clear heated in microwave. Initial heat 10 minutes brought to gel stage.  Two intervals of 1 minute each and One interval of 30 seconds brought temp to 312F.  Added 2 tsp heat stabilizer and colorant (white pearlescent + violet hi-lite + black & purple flake). poured into Presto Pot (pre-heated to 200F) and turned on stirrer.  

5-10 minutes temperature at 305F (I decided to keep plastic at the cool edge of usability because of previous "ambering") and I started shooting with injector. 1st color is the result and what I wanted.  

After demolding I heated the sprues and the cold plugs from the injector in the microwave to 310F and added it to the pot (approx 1.5 cups).  

2nd round of baits was discolored & 3rd batch is what you see here.  I got disgusted and stopped at that point.  I did reheat the sprues and plugs between each batch.

bait browning.JPG

bait browning.JPG

bait browning.JPG

bait browning.JPG

bait browning.JPG

bait browning.JPG

bait browning.JPG

bait browning.JPG

post-26092-0-42859700-1382837457_thumb.jpg

Painter,

I usually make 32 oz. batches of light colors in my presto pot. I put the plastic in the pot with four tsp of heat stabilizer and turn on the stirrer and the pot. It takes 20 to 30 minutes to get to pouring temp. Then I add my colorant and flake and go. This allows me to empty the pot faster befor the plastic has a chance to yellow. For dark colors I can make 64 oz. batches.

I just made some laminated worms with a clear/flaked top, and I found the clear is much more heat sensitive.  I added heat stabilizer, and that helped, but, once I'd heated my plastic to 350 initially complete the conversion process, per the manufs. instructions, I only got a couple of reheats to 330 before it started to amber.