pux

Devcon Hardness Question

Hello guys,

I'm new in using Devcon as a top coat. What I've noticed is that after it dries i.e. about 24 h or more I can make a mark with my nail over the coat. This is with one coat applied. Is that the normal hardness or I'm doing something wrong?

Thanks in advance!

X2 what Cougar said.  Epoxies only cure hard if they are measured and mixed well.  Of the two, mixing is more often the culprit in failure to harden.  Mixing well means different things to different guys.  All I can say is I mix the heck out of mine for a full minute - it looks like milk when I'm through but I add a FEW drops of denatured alcohol after mixing to expel bubbles and lengthen the brush time. Never a failure to harden.

As far as measuring, if you don't do it it accurately, you may have excess resin or hardener that will not combine chemically and will remain soft.  It will yellow faster if there is excess hardener present.  Safest method I've found is to use syringes that are sold to measure epoxy for rod guides.  Some syringes contain silicone, which can cause fish eyes as the epoxy hardens.

D2T should harden enough not to sag in about 1 1/2-2 hours and enough to handle lightly in about 5 hours.

Ditto what Bob said. When mixing epoxy I beat it to a froth and then add a few drops of denatured alcohol. The mxing then continues only a little gentler this time so as not to add so many bubbles into the mix. After it's thoroughly mixed I hold it close to my mouth and exhale on it. Exhale.........Not blow. Your breath is warmer this way and the combination of the warmth of your breath and the carbon dioxide expelled will pop the remaining bubbles.

Ben