seanmarty93

Epoxy, Painting.......need Some Advice Please

Hello everyone! Im new to this hobby and have spent the last year slowly collecting the various materials and tools needed. I finally have been able to put it all together, and am excited (and addicted)  about making my own baits. I must say, I feel I am off to a great start, but I owe it all to all of the fellow hobbyist like yourselves, who have been generous enough to share thier ideas and advice.I just wanted to take a second to to say THANK YOU to everyone who takes the time to help new guys such as myself!!!!!!!! I would be so lost without your help. In fact, I stumbled across this sight, when I was researching the idea to JUST PAINT some blanks. I had no intention or idea that one year later, I I would be making my own balsa cranks!!!!!! LOL

That being said, I'd like to get into the "meat and potatos" of my topic...

I am making my own balsa crankbaits from square balsa blanks, through wire construction. I have done a ton of research on sealing, painting and topcoating baits. From sanding sealers, protionate dip (spelling? cant remember) concrete sealers, acrylic paint thined and dipping, epoxy coats, moisture cure........I think I've done myself more harm than good as now I feel like my head is spinning with information overload.