rsmalley52

Most Common Colors Used

I am just starting out painting my own baits, and was wondering what colors you guys used the most other than white and black.  Crankbaits that I'm interested in making are for walleye and bass.  What would be a good start of colors I should get to have some baits painted correctly?

Thanks

Ryan

Brown, Caribbean Blue, Green, Neon Yellow, Orange, Red, Gray, Pearl White - all Createx Transparent colors - are a good basic array.  You also need a heavily pigmented white to lay down a color basecoat.  Polytranspar Superhide White is my favorite for this, ordered from taxidermy.net.  I've accumulated 30-40 colors.  They include pearls and flakes that I like to use to make lures look more realistic.  Createx colors can be mixed to make intermediate colors and the basic Createx palette is the best place to start.

• Like 2

Brown, Caribbean Blue, Green, Neon Yellow, Orange, Red, Gray, Pearl White - all Createx Transparent colors - are a good basic array.  You also need a heavily pigmented white to lay down a color basecoat.  Polytranspar Superhide White is my favorite for this, ordered from taxidermy.net.  I've accumulated 30-40 colors.  They include pearls and flakes that I like to use to make lures look more realistic.  Createx colors can be mixed to make intermediate colors and the basic Createx palette is the best place to start.

you saying all the above colors are transparents or they are opaques and then get all transparents?

I have allot of Createx opaque colors and a pint of transparent base a quart of 5608 illustration base and a pint of airbrush medium which is colorless paint and I've had great results with this setup, that being said I also have a lot of "specialized colors" that I use such as fastback green, Sepia, fluorescent and pearl colors. I guess to put it simply that I have a little of everything but the base colors will do you no wrong getting started.