darkangel

Heating Plastic

I'm new to the hobby guys, so forgive me.  I've decided to go with presto pots, rather than Pyrex.  When starting with new plastic, can you simply pour it in the pots and let it get up to temp, stirring occasionally?  Also, what's the best way of reheating my scrap plastic pieces to reuse?  Can I also do that in the presto pots?

Thanks Guys!  I'm looking at doing 16oz batches in each pot and using a twinjector for doing laminates.  The other thing I'm totally clueless on is adding the color to plastic.  I'm using M-F colors and plastic.  Lets say if I'm going to do chartreuse, how many drops would I need for 16 oz??

You will find that each brand of colors will vary.  All fluorescent colors MUST be mixed before the plastic is heated.  I've found this works better with chartreuse too. 

As for MF, that's a great color choice with only a few I had a hard time working with.  Pumpkin, for example, is extremely light.  I don't think I could mix enough pumpkin to achieve the color I was looking for.  LOL.  I eventually went to Lure Craft for that one, but for the most part you should be fine. 

A good general rule for most colors (and I use the term "most" lightly), is one drop per ounce of plastic.  Then again, I've never worked with larger amounts like the 16 ounces you mentioned.  I was old school and always mixed 4 ounces at a time. 

Most importantly, write everything down.  Once you DO get that color you're looking for, you don't wanna have to do that trial and error thing again!

Best of luck.  :)

You will find that each brand of colors will vary.  All fluorescent colors MUST be mixed before the plastic is heated.  I've found this works better with chartreuse too.