froggerbass

Swimbait Help

I could really use some help/input on some swimbaits I've been working on. I've got about 8 baits that i've been working on for a few months now. I have finally gotten to where I'm very happy with the shapes and sizes, got the pin hinges installed, got ballast weights put in. The two problems I'm having boil down to 1st: the 4 piece baits I've made have really solid action as long as they are fished slow, any speed to the retrieve and they turn and they blow out. The second problem on the two piece baits I've made, actually only one the baits has this problem, is that instead of a clean level slaloming action like the other 2 piece baits I've made, this one wants to come straight up and nose out of the water with any pull. I used mahogany on all of these baits and they all sit around 2.2 oz. +-.2.  It seems like I'm pretty close to getting them where I want them, but after a couple adjustment and trial tests I'm at an impass. I thought that if i added more weight to the head that might get me headed in the right direction, but after trying that today, it didn't seem to make much difference. 

Any help would be greatly appreciated. Thanks

How long and wide is the slalom bait. 2.2 oz seems light compared to the bait I make. I use poplar. at 9 in long, I get a good action at around 100 grams. If I get much under 100 grams, the baits will sit right in the water but will bust the surface with any type of forward pull. My bait pre ballast is right around 50g. Hope it helps

Froggerbass, Squirrel will have a tough job predicting the weight when the paint job you use, the hook types and quantities you use, even the clear coat type and thickness you use, are all variables.  I hope he can provide you some ideas, but for myself, I could not.