kmer7777

Electroplating Red Over Gold Hooks?

I'm under the impression that red plating goes on over gold. (?) If that is true then I need to figure out if there is some way I can do this myself or have someone do it for me. I have shwack of gold plated hooks (mainly wire jig hooks) that need to be red. Any ideas?

The first plating company I contacted suggested I powder coat them. Not what I thought would be the answer.

The reason I'm considering this is that my buyer doesn't want ANY gold hooks. They only want bronze or red. This is the first time I heard of such an anti-gold preference (for walleye). Mind you, I'm fairly new in terms of fishing experience. I'd like to hear others thoughts on 'gold' hook preferences.

There have been several discussions on electroplating and for the hobbyist it is a bit expensive. It also has it's health hazards. If it were me and I was needing some red hooks I would just buy enough to satisfy the need of the customers who are requesting them.

There are several threads regarding this process so you might do a search for them and read up on the info offered there.

good luck,

Ben

Ya it's easy enough to search for electroplating in terms of 'gold', 'chrome', 'nickel' etc... I guess what I'd like to know is.. What is the chemical or material that is being deposited on gold to appear 'red'. Is it a metal, acrylic, resin, ink, dye? This is where I run into a wall. What do the commercial hook makers use? Is it a secret?