borderbasser

fiber guard question

I'm still new to this but I finally got some molds made and am knocking out some good looking jigs. The question reguarding the fiber guards is, to glue, or not to glue. I tried to pour a jig with the guard in the mold, but that was a disaster. The guard just shriveld up. I am wondering if the lead was not too hot as I don't have a good way to regulate the temp. As far as glueing is concerned, it has worked fine except for one problem. After I powderpaint, I have to ream the holes with a 5/32 drill bit before I can put the guard in which almost always cracks and chips the paint around the hole. This is happening before I cure. I am dipping my jigs in a home made fluid bed. I am sure it is not as good as some out there, but it is sure WAY better than dipping in the regular can. Anyway, if I can find some material to shield my guards during the heating and curing fase, I think I would just rather pour the jigs with the fiber in the mold. Any suggestions on either method would be appreciated!

TJ

boderbasser, check the next subject line on the main page, then look at the 4th post. It has been suggested to me to use Teflon tubing to shield the weed guards.It sounds like it will work great! I just ordered some from the link(small parts.com), it should be here Monday or Tuesday. I hope I ordered the right size. I will let you know when I get it.

Jignpig, I understand the part about shielding the guards and what all that intails. My main question is what do I do to keep the guard from melting during the initial pouring process. The one I tried did not work at all. I was melting on a propane fish cooker and the lead had already been melted for several minutes before I took it off the heat to pour. Do you think it was too hot? If so, what is the max. temperature I should pour at? Thanks for the reply.

TJ

What size of lead head are you pouring?

What size ae the fibers in your weed guard and how many?