basser_jim

Running powder paint

Jim' date='

I am a newbie, but I think you are getting the paint on too thick. Try using a fluid bed if you are not already. Also, I think if you heat your baits too much you will also have problems with too much paint. Do a search and you'll probably find the info you need. Hope this helps.

TJ[/quote']

may be a stupid question, but what exactly is a fluid bed and what is its purpose??

Jim,

A fluid bed allows powder paint to be suspended in air to approximately twice its normal volume inside the powder cup. By "fluidizing" the powder, quality and control of the paint application are greatly improved over trying to dip into stagnant powder. In other words, the powder paint will look and feel like water at a slight boil making it easier to dip heated jigs and spinner blades into the paint and to allow a thinner, more even coat of paint. This will save time and money by using less paint per jig. Also with a thinner coat, there is less chance of drips forming during the final curing process. Jig eyes remain open and clear of paint. Once you use a fluid bed to powder paint your jig or spinner blades, you will never go back to the old way of dipping the jigs in a jar. You can check out www.tjstackle.com under the powder paint section for tips and tricks to painting jigs using a fluid bed. If you are interested in a fluid bed, I do make these and have them for sale on eBay at:

http://cgi.ebay.com/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?ViewItem&item=7224389957&rd=1&sspagename=STRK%3AMESE%3AIT&rd=1

If you have any other questions on a fluid bed or its operations, please let me know. I would be glad to help.

Thanks,

Benjamin