OHfishing

First Time melter here

Hello, First time poster here as well as first time melter. I recently purchased a new lee production pot and my first mold. A do-1t 1/32 oz roundhead jig mold. I am planning on purchasing 5 more molds real soon here. I got myself some soft lead and started playing by melting the lead down into small ingots (from the mold pre--warm cavity) After I got all my lead melted down I thought I would play with the mold and get a little practice. I DID NOT have any jig hooks in the mold. I just wanted to see the shape of the jig so I poured some lead into it. What I found was no matter how fast I let go of the bottom pour handle I still put to much lead into the mold making the jig head have a mushroom shaped hat. For some reason I cant get the "round" shape without the huge misshaped mushroom hat. I know it was my first try and I have alot to learn. I was hoping one of you lead vet's could school me with some pointers. I am a TOTAL beginner and it seems to me there is just 2 much lead coming out. And I have no control ... I was wishing when you poured lead into the mold you would get a perfect round head. lead18wg.jpg

You want the lead to run in a steady stream. Also, you have to try to get it in the hole without touching the stream to the sides. Be careful with no hooks as the lead might run right through the mold.

Keep at it and you'll find what works for you best. Good luck. B)

I feel a little better now ....and I already learned something here.. I was browsing these forums and I found this thread http://www.tackleunderground.com/board/viewtopic.php?t=5532 Thats what my jigs look like so I guess its common. Now I just have to figure out how to remove the "Mushroom Head" Shrue? as good as the gentleman who made that thread does.

here is a tutorial on pouring lead........

http://www.tackleunderground.com/board/kb.php?mode=article&k=27