Kribman

Help a Newbie!

Hi, I'd like to introduce myself. I go by Kribman and I live just north of Chicago. I love to fish as does everyone else here. Just a quick intro. But also, i am new to lure making and am curious about the walkthrough steps of making Muskie crankbaits. I have formed a 7'' Jake like lure and have sanded it down and everything. From my vague knowledge of through wire construction, I cut a large slice down the front belly of the lure. But I am stuck here. Should I seal now? How do I get the wire and lip to stay in the lure. And finally, when you make mesh scales, do you start by;

1. doing an undercoat of paint

2. apply the mesh with glue

3. paint over the mesh?

This seems like a lot, but I really do need help just to get started. Thanks a bunch

Kribman. I do not know what a Jake bait is, so I can't help you much here. I would suggest you use the search feature (top tool bar) for a start, as there will is heaps of info about the subjects you requested there. Otherwise sit tight and someone will jump on this with an answer. Just noticed the time there, you may have to wait until tomorrow. pete

Have you weighted the lure yet? If not now might be a good time to do this.

I an not an expert on this part but you might try plumbers epoxy/putty to secure the wire.

Wait till the end to put the lip in. Then 5 Min. Devcon should secure it fine.