Kribman

Im' in a Rut!

I have been building cranks and jerkbaits for about 3 months and have hit a sudden halt. I know my painting skills aren't what they could be and I feel it is because I try to get the paint job done quickly. The results are less than optimal for me. How long does it take you guys to crank out a quality bait with drying times and epoxy layers if you do that? I am thinking about spraying a layer or polyurethane in between each color change to preserve what I have just done as best as possible. It will also give me more time to think about my next move or to clean up if I made a mistake. I am wondering if a thin layer of this stuff will add too much weight to the baits? If anyone has felt like this, please respond!

Kribman

Kribman,

I only make big baits that get hammered by rocks and brush, and are totally reaction lures. I stress about the paint job as I'm doing it (I'm not in the same league with some of the guys here), and on getting the epoxy just right, but then I patch them up with Sharpies and 5 minute epoxy when they get dinged up, and it works just fine.

I get hung up sometimes debating what paint scheme to use, or just don't want to go out into the Garage and do anything. But then I'll crank out six swimbaits in a week, and the world is good again.

It comes and goes. The up side of having it as a hobby, not a job. Not like the passion of having to fish every weekend!

I'm just starting out as well, I've only been making baits seriously for about 2 months. I kinda played at it for two years but I'm getting much more serious now. I am finding each bait takes about 2 hours to make, not including the drying time for paints and epoxy. If I take drying time into account I have no idea, but I can make a bait in two days within that 2 hour build time.