rlcam

Paint description ????

Maybe it's just me but I still have a little trouble with all the paint choices.Could someone here give a short description of the several types of paints.For example the differences between enamels,latex,lacquers,

acrylics,auto paints etc.What are they oils,waterbase,etc.Which ones can be mixed,what kinds of clears can be used with what paints.I am fairly new to this type of painting and so far I am using rattle cans,but would still like to know this for the can paints and for when I get an airbrush.I got a few pretty nice(I think) looking paint jobs from the cans ,I will post some pics in a few days.I'm not saying i'm good,but it's amazing how good they can look even from the cans if you take your time.

P.S.Thanks guys for supporting another addiction,my family thinks i'm crazy,all I talk about is plug making.Like Vodkaman said,going to the mall has taken on a new meaning,everything I look at is a potential color,stencil,or tool.

Well, here's some info from Wikipedia: lacquer is a paint containing lacquer thinner and usually nitrocellulose (a wood product) with resins to provide flexibility. Acrylic latex is water based paint containing synthetic polymers like acrylic and vinyl acrylic as binders. It has no actual latex content. The more acrylic it has the better the paint and higher the price. Enamel is a generic term that nowadays means only "hard surface paint". It formerly was a term used to describe generic oil based paint but now there are water based "acylic enamels".