jflures

todays question

Before I ask todays question, let me start with this. These questions are not ment to ruffle anyones feathers, just to take in everyones point of view. I try to state the question in a way that appeals to every one, so they want to answer. Remember to be civil, your thoughts may not be the next guys/gals. All of you baitmakers that sell your baits should take note, maybe in these anwsers is the next big idea.

If you had access to only one type of material to build your baits (wood, plastic, foam etc.) what would it be? and why?

Wood, because I can work with it. I'm a carpenter, and it just feels right.

I can easily shape it, and I know how to glue and tool it. And I can vary both the buoyancy and durability by which wood I choose. And I can deal with saw/sanding dust easily. No fumes or chemicals, unless my band saw blade is dull and smokes.

Plus I have a garage full of it!

P.S. I am a hobbyist, and don't sell lures.

Not preferential here, would love to play with designing and manufacturing an injection molded plastic lure,use wood everyday, foam played with it a bit but never really got into producing lures that way. I think that a well designed plastic lure can achieve the same amount of sucess as any wood bait, but for the most part the average builder should explore all types of materials so that they can find something that fits into their groove!