pikester

Cleaning Lexan?

Since I'm new to the lure building scene, I'm having many struggles. The latest is finishing. When top coating my Lexan billed cranks, I always get too much "spill-over" from the lure onto the lip as well as getting the ocasional smudge of Devcon/Etex on different areas of the lips while finishing no matter how careful I try to be:angry:! My main question is can I clean up the extra coating on the lip with acetone, rubbing alcohol, gasoline, etc. without compromising the clarity or colour of the Lexan? Thanks, John.

Bob, that's what I was afraid of. I've heard of guys masking the lip but when I tried that, the glue set up & I ended up having to take a razor blade & cut through the Devcon down to the lip to get the tape off! Needless to say, this makes a ragged unclean finish. I'm assuming that if you mask, you need to peel the tape when the top coat is set enough that you dont disturb the finish but not so late that you end up with the mess I decribed?

Never use acetone on Lexan. It will cloud and score the surface. Alcohol (as previously mentioned) will thin Devcon. You can also buff cured Devcon using plastic polish or jewelers rouge with a buffing disk on a Dremel tool. Devcon can also be wet sanded using up to 1500 grit.

I install my lips when I top coat with Devcon. I will sometimes put a little tape on the end where it will not contact the clear coat but if I get a little on my finger I will not transfer to the bill. I will put Devcon in the lip slot and a little on the lip. When I push in the lip the extra comes out and I smooth it down the bait. A little around the lip edge is normal for me, but it is fairly seamless and flows in with the rest of the bait.

mossy maker