jamie

have an idea for swimbait hinges

I finally started working on my first swimbait after 15 years or so of making lures. I never made one because I was scared of the wear of the clear in the hinge. this might be a good idea or the worst Im no expert on swimbaits , but what if you place a bead like you use in inline spinners above the screw eye on the top hinge and place a bead on the bottom of the screw eye on the bottom hinge.I wish my camera was working so I can show you what im taking about but the bait so far moves freely and smooth. There hardly any play up or down like you would if you didnt have the beads. It seems there is no binding and moves freely with no effort.I dont know how it will swim, because i havnt sealed the bait ive only just dry fitted the bait. What are your ideas on this idea, good or bad?

Im sorry ive should of said the hinge pin runs through thetop of the bait then through the bead then the screw eye then through the middle of the bait then through your screw eye then through the bead and out the bottom of your bait. And I know I just made it more confuseing sorry.

I think it is a good idea. You can coat the half of the bead tuching the bait. I have used beads as bearing on my inlines and they last longer than the hook on the bait. The first post was clear as a bell. If there was enough movement on the bead and eye but not to much it might swim flat and perfect. keep us posted. Good idea.

Jamie,

My experience, using screw eyes and hinge pins, has been that the actual wear and tear on the inside of the joints is minimal, but that having very lose and free moving joints is key. I avoid joints "sticking", which does happen occasionally on casts, by coating my lure's joints with Megastrike or some other scent, which acts as a lubricant.