carver

Diving depth

I've read on past threads that 1" of bill equates to roughly 10 feet of diving depth. I am trying to create a crankbait that imitates a fathead (perch) minnow and I would like it to run about 7 - 10 feet. The body I carved is about 1.75 inches long. I feel as though adding a bill that is close to an inch long will make it too big in comparison to the body. Is it possible to add weight to the body to get the bait to suspend a few feet and then put a 0.5" bill on to get it the rest of the way down?

Hope this isn't a stupid question. I'm new to all this.

Thanks in advance for your help.

I fish my deep cranks slow, so I can feel what they're doing.

I would go to the longer lip, and keep the buoyancy, so, when you bump a log or stick, you can stop your retrieve and the lure will float back up away from the wood and let you continue your retrieve.

I think making a lure go deeper by weighting it is a recipe for lost lures.

Except for jerk baits, I almost never throw a suspending crank.

Square bill? - No. Look at the commercial deep divers DD-22, DT-16, DT-20, etc and they're all rounded. The only attribute I keep hearing about square bills is that they bounce off of / come through cover better than other shapes. Not sure I believe that either since some of the best I've used in heavy cover also have rounded lips !

Also don't know any deep diver with a square lip , in fact such lips are not very common over here on commercials !

Deep diver lips are most likely rounded at their forward end , and narrow down their base end towards the lure's body .

In the book "Crankbait Secrets" by Joe Bucher I have read , that "triangle" lips(like on lures like "Cisco Kid" , "Depthraider" , etc....) are best suited for cover , and I believe it , since these lips make those lures "shake" left/right in a way , that any debris or vegetation would fall off the lip .

@ carver