Nitro7506

Water Based Paints For Airbrushing Crankbaits

I just started painting crankbaits with an airbrush. Needless to say I have a lot to learn. My initial efforts involved lacquer paints. I am considering using waterbased paints to make cleanup easier. I have the following questions:

1. Are these as good as the lacquer based paints.

2. Where is the best place to buy such paints.

3. Are there any other things I should be considering before deciding this is the way to go.

Any help that anyone can provide will be appreciated. Thanks.:whistle:

As to whether they're as good, you just have to try them and decide for yourself. There are differences in the results you get but a majority of hobby painters use acrylics because they are less toxic and cleanup with soap and water. Createx, Smith Wildlife and Van Dyke are popular brands and can be bought from web stores like taxidermy.net or dixieart.com. Createx is also sold at many craft stores. Personally, I like acrylics for the above reasons and am satisfied with the results. Due to the toxicity, I wouldn't dream of using anything else.

NItro, I agree with BobP. Laquers are awesome paints but the toxic affect is a real concern. If you do use laquers take all correct measures for your health and saftey. Laquer fumes are a real threat, take that VERY SERIOUSLY, read the threads, and ask alot of questions. I use createx and some wasco paints , but you still need ventilation.

I use only Createx also which are water based. One for safety purposes over laquers (although precautions still need to be taken) and the ease of use. You can use other water based craft paints but be mindful that there intended use is usually to be brushed on. Createx is made for the airbrush. That being said, depending on the createx paint you use will determine how much you want to dilute. I dilute pearls a lot heavier than regular colors and opaque a little more than transparent. Just experiment and youll get the hang of it.