JustJohn369

New to this

Hello all, I am new to luremaking seriously. I have made a few in the past years that never got finished due to lack of component sales. I have tyed flies for years and am ready to move on. Ok, I am a top water fan and would like to stick there for a bit. Here's my problem, I need propellers and maybe jitterbug cups. I have looked around at some of the vendors listed here and found props, but am unsure of the size listed. Does anyone have a preffered supplier that is easy on the beginner? Is there a vendor where I could get jitterbug cups and other "odd" components for topwater cranks. Also, is there a preffered wood to work with? I have lots of mahogany on hand and would like to use this, but I've never had a mahogany lure. Is there a best choice or preferance? Thanks for any info.

@ JustJohn369

Hi , John , welcome at TU !

I purchase my lure components at Welcome to Moore's Lures , but there are also a few other suppliers around , like f. e. "Barlow's" , "Hagens" , "Jann's Netcraft" , "BassProShops", "Cabela's" , etc . , they are all mentioned somewhere in here !

I guess , that mahagony would be too heavy for topwaterlures , ......with all hardware added , such lures would not be buoyant sufficiently anymore:?:huh: .

Probably a good choice for sinking glider baits :??

I guess , over there in the US the guys take your local pinewood or basswood , ....here in Europe abachewood is quite popular , it's weight and density is somewhere between pine and balsa , and it holds epoxied screweyes as well .

good luck , diemai:yay:

Edited by diemai