BrentA

Couple ?'s on compressor and paint

Hi everyone, sorry to pester you guys with more rookie questions but after several searches I'm still not sure about a couple things.

First of all, I bought a Paasche D500 air compressor spur of the moment on ebay. I did a quick search on it and another tackle site said it was a popular choice for lure painters. Later that night I found this site and it seems most of you use more powerful compressors. Anyhoo, my first question is where do I purchase a regulator and moisture filter for this compressor if I decide to try it?

Also, any suggestions on where to purchase Createx paint?

I've been painting baits for a couple years but nothing serious. I thought if I had the right equipment I may get more serioius with it but I know nothing (obviously) about air compressors or any other equipment for that matter. Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Great site by the way!!! Thanks

I use a little Badger airbrush compressor with auto on/off that develops max 50 psi, 40 psi constant working pressure. IMO, you want a compressor that has a minimum 30-35 psi constant working pressure to drive an airbrush used for crankbaits. Some of the cheaper Chinese compressors advertise 30 psi but only deliver 15 psi working pressure. No good IMO. Whichever compressor you choose, you'll need a pressure regulator (it usually comes with a pressure gauge) and a moisture filter ($15-20 each), plus adapters to fit everything together. You can get them at home centers like Home Depot that carry air tool accessories. I like my compressor (it was free!) but since I work in my garage and noise is not an issue, I'd buy a small tool compressor with an integral air storage tank if I were shopping for a new one. A lot of guys use ones costing $60-100 that develop 100-120 max psi.