Herman Nel

Thick Gloss Coat On Lures

Hi Guys!

I am still fairly new to the luremaking family but have come up wit a good design and it works great!

I currently coat it ( by dipping ) in nitrocellulose,but I find this a bit time consuming and it also make some paints run,futhermore the latest problem is that the coat turns to a smokey white effect...?

What alternatives ( available in South-Africa can you guys suggest?

Regards

Herman Nel

Hi Guys!

I am still fairly new to the luremaking family but have come up wit a good design and it works great!

I currently coat it ( by dipping ) in nitrocellulose,but I find this a bit time consuming and it also make some paints run,futhermore the latest problem is that the coat turns to a smokey white effect...?

What alternatives ( available in South-Africa can you guys suggest?

Regards

Herman Nel

Hi Herman

I use some nitro paints but have been forced onto 2K paints as cellulose is being phased out in the Uk. I have never heard of nitro clear-coat been used as a dip :o . I am not surprised you have some running paint from dipping as you are basically dipping your baits into solvent (ouch). Do you have an airbrush ?? Nitro clear is designed as a spray applied medium and used as such will give real good results plus it dries almost instantly when sprayed in light coats. The smokey effect is created by the solvents vaporizing, this is common when using proprionate dips. I have read on here that if you hang the lure in a sealed container containing the same solvent in the bottom of it (in your case cellulose thinners) then this prevents the white blush.