wetflyguy

Weighting Jointed Plugs

I started playing around with jointed plugs for stripers and Musky/Pike.

The lures are thru wired , any body do these type lures.

My question is do you keep all the weight in th front section.

Put two 00 buck shot just under the chin and a 150 grain weight

in the back of the front section.

Lure swims with a slow wag.

Just looking to cut my learning curve a bit.

The plug are 6" long 7/8 " dia , carved from poplar with a z type lip.

wet

Edited by wetflyguy

depending on how many joints are in the bait, i always try to keep all my weight in the front most section. sometimes the other sections want to float up sideways so you need to add a little ballast, but if you add too much ballast to the rear sections, it really kills the action.

+1 I have had exactly the same experience, and keep as much weight as I can in the first section. Never weight the tail section. I weight my floaters so the lure sits with it's back slightly out of the water, and the tail wags in the breeze, like a tailing bonefish.

I started playing around with jointed plugs for stripers and Musky/Pike.

The lures are thru wired , any body do these type lures.

My question is do you keep all the weight in th front section.

Put two 00 buck shot just under the chin and a 150 grain weight

in the back of the front section.

Lure swims with a slow wag.

Just looking to cut my learning curve a bit.

The plug are 6" long 7/8 " dia , carved from poplar with a z type lip.

wet

I have built a bunch of 7" single joint baits for pike. I find that weight right behind the bill and then right behind the first hook hanger works best.

261g7ky.jpg

View My Video

Sorry the vid isnt the greatest but I did it myself