TLane4

Another Scale Question

Hello All,

I am new to the whole painting lures and am having a small problem. As simple as it seems I can't get the material I am using to make my scale pattern stay still on the lure. I have tried tying it together with fishing line while pulling it tight. I have also tried using split shot to weigh it down and drape it over the top. Both methods have worked to an extent but move around and can be very time consuming to set up. My next thought is to use binder clips and use them as both a weight and to draw it tight against the lure or possibly making little frames to somehow encase the lure.

Any tips or tricks would be greatly appreciated.

Hello All,

I am new to the whole painting lures and am having a small problem. As simple as it seems I can't get the material I am using to make my scale pattern stay still on the lure. I have tried tying it together with fishing line while pulling it tight. I have also tried using split shot to weigh it down and drape it over the top. Both methods have worked to an extent but move around and can be very time consuming to set up. My next thought is to use binder clips and use them as both a weight and to draw it tight against the lure or possibly making little frames to somehow encase the lure.

Any tips or tricks would be greatly appreciated.

Some people use frames,but I find it easier to just get small clips from Home Depot. They sell all sizes off it. I can adjust and use from 1 to 3-4 on the material. Only problem i see with using frames is getting the top end of the bait. The clips at home depot are like 50 cents and near the big wood clamps and stuff. So something cheap to try out if ya want.