bazzman wes

Fine Airbrush Details

Hi guys,

I am having trouble making the thin lines or the rainbow trout pink line. I tend to get some splatter or wash out especially at the beginning of my line. I am using a paasche gravity feed. I think I may have to much air or too thin of paint. I use model master enamel or createx and have not made either work. Thanks!

I'm no expert, but the only way I can paint details is to use low air pressure and thin my paint. When trying to paint lateral lines or vertical bars I don't use over 10 psi and sometimes go as low as 3 to 5 psi. I can't tell you exactly how much to thin your paint. I use a "try it and see" approach to thinning my paint.

Hi guys,

I am having trouble making the thin lines or the rainbow trout pink line. I tend to get some splatter or wash out especially at the beginning of my line. I am using a paasche gravity feed. I think I may have to much air or too thin of paint. I use model master enamel or createx and have not made either work. Thanks!

You need to start the paint flow away from the body and sweep across.

Dave

Agreed I'd go with stencils. In addition I would start practice painting lines on a PVC pipe (it helps getting used to painting on a contour).

Something you might want to try is using stencils for doing things like gills or other detail work. Stencils are an easy way out for those of us who are not that proficient with an airbrush.

I am kind of new to this but one thing I have found to be a great help is tongue depressors. I paint Half of one to look like the bait I want to paint. This is to make sure it all works right. I then write on the back what I did. That way it is no big deal if you mess up getting it right. Sometimes I have gone through 2-5 before I get the look I want.