j27

Balsa

Hello, I'm new at this ,6 months or so, I've made about 20 baits so far and I'm hooked. I was reading through some forums and read something about some harder balsa. I've been getting mine at Hobby Lobby and been working good so far. But if there is a better way, I would like to use it. The forum read that the balsa at H Lobby was mainly for making airplanes and was softer. So, I started a search for this harder balsa with no luck. I thought balsa was balsa.Did I misunderstand this or does this exist? And where do you get it? Thanks for all the help ! J

From what I've read Balsa is divided into 4 different categories. Extra light is 6 pounds or less per cubic foot. Light is 6 to 10 pounds per cubic foot. Medium is 10 to 14 pounds per cubic foot. Heavy is 14 to 19 pounds per cubic foot. Extra heavy is 19 pounds per cubic foot and above. If you want to order some of the heavier weight balsa then you should plan on paying more for it because they have to hand select it. Just type "balsa suppliers" into your browser to do a web search.

Ben

Balsa has a density of between 6 and 18 lbs/cu ft. A lot of the balsa you see is intended for model builders. It tends to be lighter, low density balsa. Many crankbait builders prefer to work with high density 12-18 lb balsa. It's considerably more tougher and crankbaits from it don't require special, extensive reinforcement to make them acceptably durable. Downside? You probably have to special order it from a balsa company. If you are a hobby builder and don't mind doing the extra work needed to make low density balsa more durable, the crankbaits you can make from it can have very high buoyancy - which is not necessarily a bad thing. It just depends on what you want to build and how much trouble you are willing to go through to do it.