anamealreadyinuse

Use Of Red And Fluorescent Color

I'm new to making my own tack and had a few questions, hope ya'll can lend a hand:

1. Is it true fish do not see color, only contrast? I find this hard to believe considering the amount of time spent on colors in luremaking..
  2. I read somewhere awhile back that the color red is the first color to disappear the deeper the lure dives in the water. Does anyone know what depth this color is actually lost? is the contrast lost as well?
  3. Is there anything to be concerned about using Fluorescent color in this regards? I have some really slick Fluorescent green and purple I wanted to use but am concerned and want to use it where it will be most effective.

Thanks for your help, really glad to have found this board.

IMHO color shades and detail are used by fish and fisherman. U didn't say if you are interested in freshwater or saltwater lures. To me it depends on water clarity and bait action. In clear water detail may make a difference especially if the bite is finicky. In stained water making a bait that is brighter in color can make the lure a bit more visible to the fish. SO - to me the answer is complicated. Also if there was only one answer we would have a fish population problem - they would all be caught. Depends to if your interested in the "art" aspect of lure making , just functional (catches fish) or both. Just be aware that tackle making can become addictive and cut into you fishing time not to mention budget. One thing though - always have fun. The rest is after that.

I've read several articles that say fish have rods and cones in their eyes just as we humans do and that if they couldn't see color there would be need in having them. I doubt they see color exactly as we do since they live in water and we live in air, but I do believe they see color. Another thought is that if they didn't see color then why are there so many brightly colored fish in such a vast array of colors?