Gentle

A Different Thought About Top Coats

I'm fairly new to this site, and I must say the wealth of knowledge on here is amazing. Wish I'd discovered TU years ago!! I've been painting baits for roughly 8 yrs. and can say TU would've saved me untold hours of trial and error and green backs$$$$!

I've been painting baits for the last couple of years for a few local tackle shops and individuals, and as of late has been somewhat of a part time job. I use d2t almost exclusively for my top coat, it's easy, reliable, durable, and I've found it can be very versatile with thinning. Some of the paint jobs I do require a fairly thick finish, such as matching those Norman glitter paint schemes. So here's something I've discovered after at least a couple thousand paint jobs, on certain, usually large profile baits, the clear coat can actually add buoyancy to a bait. Example: I've painted many a Rapala DT16s-20s, some you get straight out of the package sink like a turd, and I've never had a single sink after putting on the glitter paint job. The clear coat actually adds to the overall profile of the bait, hence more surface area= more bouyancy. And it doesn't always have to be a thick clear coat. I've read numerous posts here, and it's always a general assumption that the weight of the clear coat just adds weight, without considering it also adds to the overall profile of the bait. Just food for thought when calculating ballast weights and such.

Maybe Dave will happen along and put us straight about the density of epoxy, but if I recall, cured epoxy has a density of 1.07 versus 1.00 for water so it is slightly heavier and will not float, per se. I usually estimate that a coat of D2T will add around .02 oz to an average sized bass bait, which has worked well for me when building baits to a target weight. Does the small increase in bait volume (and therefore bait buoyancy) entirely offset the added weight of the epoxy? I don't know.

Oh Dave... where are you?