Chip

Hey all You Photo Finish Folks

Yall are making this time consuming with all the steps to prep the lure, glue the image... etc....

I have been making these lures for a couple years.... Use "Water Slide Decal Paper"

You can run it through an ink jet, laser, etc..... Just wet them, slide them on and in two minutes, you can coat with your favorite top coat....

I prefer Envirotex.

I have made a least 200 of these baits with no failures (Using Envirotex)

Here is a link:

http://www.kustomrides.com/decalsupplies.htm

Search around.. you can find bulk packages cheap....

Yall Take Care!

Chip :wink: [/url]

I tried the Decal paper and didn't care for it.

Different strokes for different folks.

I got "wrinkle city" on the edges with the Decal paper, when trying to straighten it out it then folded "under", tried to straighten that out, wrinkles again. :( I had NO problems at all with the photo paper...and it's way less expensive and easier to work with.

Time isn't a factor, my goals are quality craftsmanship.

Different strokes for different folks

I agree Terry..you make a good bait from what I have heard from others in the web circles.... and I really enjoyed the photos of your new lures

:wink: Quality is also of upmost importance to me.....:?

I dont get them, but regarding the wrinkles.....after the decal has dried, some 400 grit paper will sand them off the edges.

Have a good one friend!

Take Care!

Chip B)

I have done four baits now ranging from a Bandit 200, to Poe?s RC baits, to my first D replica.

I am using regular printer paper on all of them and it has worked out fine on all of them.

I use paste glue and apply the glue to the bait and the paper. I use a hobby knife and any place the paper doesn?t lay down I cut a slit out to the edge and press it down. I then apply a coat of devcon and let dry. Go over it with 320 grit sand paper and apply the paint to the belly and the back, sign it and coat with Devcon again?