tschneid83

HELP......my lips wont sit right in the crank

ok i am new to the lure making thing so i really need some help here. I am making crankbaits and i have no trouble making them look good and the painting i am getting better at but i am having trouble with the lip. I went and bought a piece of 1/8 in thick lexan and i use my scroll say to cut it but i am having trouble making the lip sit straight in the lure which makes it spin and not work. I make sure that i keep the sides of the bait straight so when i make the cut out for the lip it is even across the side. after that i cut the sides but when i go to put the lip in it is all crooked and i cant get it to sit straight. when i glue it in i try to add a little extra to even it out but it does not work. could someone please help me out and explain a good way to make this work......THANKS A BUNCH

I didnot write this, Skeeter did. Hope he doesn't mind me using it.

Sounds like your lip has too much cleareance to start with.

Coley

Skeeter says,