fishingwaters

Attaching plastic tail to wood body bait

First off, I'm glad I've found this site - it seems it's a great resource and y'all seem very helpful. I am very new to making my own lures but I'll try to keep the questions to a minimum.

I have been playing with an idea in my head for several months now and with hard water arriving in my backyard I've decided to take the plunge and see what I can do with the idea.

This is intended on being a muskie/pike bait.

I'm sanding & carving the body of the bait but one thing I have yet to figure out is how I can securely attach a paddle style tail to the body of the bait in a fashion that it can be replaced easily. The style of tail I want to use is similar to a Reaper tail (beaver tail).

Right now I will use an actual Reaper tail as I work through the design and the crafting process until I can get time to figure out how to pour exactly what I want. I figure the learning curve on the carving / shaping skills are enough to tackle at this point.

Anyway, I could use some suggestions as to how I can attach the tail securely and yet still allow for changing the tail when it gets damaged. Any ideas?

I was thinking about boring out the back end and using friction/glue to secure it but I doubt it would hold up to much use.

I made a couple topwater hardbaits with small plastic grub tails moons ago that placed the grub inside an arrow insert (as in bow and arrow)...I then slid the insert inside of a hole in rear of the bait. It did okay, not sure its practical by any stretch nowdays, but it might trigger a thought or two.