KYBuilder

Spray paint vs. applying it by a brush

I am going to start painting my first set of lures that I carved out of balsa wood, and I am just debating on how to apply the paint. I think that I am going to dip the paints into Bear white primer and after the paint I was thinking about putting Devcon 2-ton epoxy on the baits. Could you guys give a good clear sealer that I could pick up at Home Depot or Lowe's? Finally, I was wondering if spray painting the bait using spray paint cans bought at Home Depot or Lowe's, would be better than applying the paint by a brush? If the brush technique were better, what brand of paint would you guys recommend? Thanks for the help, I'm a newbie at painting!!

I have hand painted all of my lures so far. I will say, it takes a steady hand and some brush research if you stay with it. From what I have seen here, if I was to start over, I would focus on spraying with quality stencils.

I do enjoy painting them by hand though. I use tens of brushes, all designed to add different types of detail. The hardest thing to do is fade the colors together. Very difficult to match a spray job here. Scale masking is very easy to do. Use stiff bristle brushes and dob a light coat of paint over the masking. Perfect scales every time. I have used several different types of Christmas ribbons (very inexpensive after the season) for different scale patterns.

Where spraying is really handy is mass production. I generally make my lure blanks through the summer, then go inside and paint during the winter. I am not selling my lures so time isn't a big issue. I actually enjoy the detail work. But you will not finish as many lures as rapidly as spraying will.