Fishrap

Crankbait lips

I'm new to your TU site, I have enjoyed several of your articles and must say they are very informative. I've been building jigs and spinnerbaits for awhile and thought I would try my hand at air brushing crankbaits (probably some older ones first) then try to make my own customs. I have been gathering information on paints etc. and bought a pasche vl to practice with.

My real question is do you know anyone who makes a stamp like cutter that you can stamp out plastic lips from sheets of lexan? Or can you buy bulk lips from somewhere? Any help appreciated.

To make a "lip punch" you will need two things. First you will need to buy the press. This is what applies the force to punch the lip. Next you can go to a machinist and have the punch or die made to cut the lip. The punch will fit into the press. You will have do decide on the thickness of the lip before you have the punch made. That punch will cut that thickness of polycarbonate only. You can have all of this done for around $300.00

Skeeter

I don't use a punch. I cut all of my lips by hand. I have cut so many of them that I am now pretty good at it. The price for the punch was quoted to my by two machine shops. One was here locally and the other was in Louisville Ky. A punch die should only cost you between $75 and $125. The press is where the big money comes in. But I think one could be designed with a foot brake type of pedal for less.

Skeeter