MD Doug

Need advice on the proper primer selection

I'm new to the whole process of repainting lures. I've read some of the previous post regarding air brushing and found them to be very helpful. I'm a little confused on Primers still. I'm starting to prep some lures to repaint. Most are plastic but some are wood. I'm wondering if one brand of primer can be used for both wood and plastic or if I should buy separate primer for each. I saw were some guys like Painters Touch but it only referred wooden baits in the post I saw.

Thanks for your input

Doug

I used a water-based product called Kilz and buy it in gallon jugs. I dilute it some with water and then dip each wooden bait in it and let it hang until dry. This stuff is really great, sticks to the wood fantastic and is somewhat plastic-like.

In this way you have both a sealer and a primer and are ready to go to paint. Make sure you wait a few days after using the primer/sealer as you want to make sure it's complete dry.

Jed :D

I'm curious, do you guys using Kilz thin it some as I do? I tried once without and it seemed to be a bit too thick.

Another nice thing about the Kilz that I have found is it will actually dry in extremely cold temps. My shop is in the garage and it's not heated......yikes! Anyway, I dip the baits and then hang them with some newspaper underneath to catch any drips. After one day they are completely dry to the touch, even in 25 degree F weather! I then bring them inside and let them sit another 5-7 days or so in the warmth to insure complete drying. I have tried many other forms of primer/sealer and am the most happy with this method. The Kilz really sticks to the wood, hard to even scrape off with a knife and like I said above it has a somewhat plastic feature to it.

Jed

I tried to spray some Kilz that I'd thinned down with airbrush medium but it didn't work too well. I'm now spraying a thinned down exterior latex house primer. It works fairly well.