basstech

Help with airbrush pressure

Hi all, some of you may remember that I am a rookie here. In the past month I've learned a lot, but there are somethings I need feedback on.

It's been my experience that when I go from a #3 tip to a #1 that not only do I need to thin the paint more, I also need to increase air pressure. I've been using createx and have found the different bottles of paint are extremely inconsistent in the viscosity. I bought a Silent-Air air compressor viper II (I think),and it is rated at 38 lbs. max. From what I am guessing I'm lucky if I'm getting 20lbs. at the tip except on the initial burst of air at which time the compressor begins running and doesn't stop until I do and the pressure drops significantly. I'm finding even when I thin my paint 2 or 3 pts. water to 1 part paint...using a #1 tip. I have to really blast it to get the brush to draw paint. If I don't keep the pressure on full the whole time the paint stops drawing, also I have to keep the tip at least 6"'s or more back from the crankbait or it gets too wet and blows, or pools up, giving me a really crappy finish. I don't have near the amount of problems using the #3 but I'm still unable to do any detail work with it. Is this because primarily my compressor is too weak, is it possible there is something wrong with my needle. How can I tell if I need to replace the needle. I've been very meticulous in the handling of the needles and tips and extremely cautious in making sure I don't drop, jam, or place the needle tip down. Also am very meticulous in cleaning the air brush immediately after using it. Can someone give me a clue? Pleasssssse?