lucky_fisherman

trying to get started

I was turned on to the idea of making lures by my friend. Since then I have been spending every free second I have had reading posts and tutorials on this site. Ive even began making a muskie size glide bait (I'm modeling it after a Hellhound). Anyway my question is what type of knife would you recommend for someone just starting out? I'm a college student so i don't have a whole lot of cash to throw around but I am really excited to make my own lures. So far I have been using a jackknife and it is a real pain. Thanks in advance for any help.

Fishbooger is right. The Murphy knife is probably the best carving knife that you can get for the money. If you buy it from Smoky Mountain Woodcarvers, ask them to hone the edge for you. I think that they will do it either at no charge or for a very nominal charge. Also, plan on ordering a strop and some compound to keep the edge on the knife. Mac Profitt and Gene Webb will take good care of you. I've done a fair amount of business with them over the years and they will go out of their way to help you.

Gene