muskysucker

What kind of paint??

I am looking to switch from water base to lacquer. I don't like water base paint because if i miss with epoxy the paint comes off right away. With lacquer base it will stay on for the most part. I was going to use car paint. There is a shop vary close to my house, and the price isn't to high for small bottles, and it should go a long way. And the colors are endless. I am adding duct work and a bigger motor to my paint booth. What paint are all of you using and a short reason why for a little help to me justifing this move I am going to make.

Muskysucker, I have been using lacquer paint for a few years now and absolutely love it. The main reasons I use them are the multitude of colors available and the quick drying time. I can spray a coat of lacquer and it will dry almost immediately. You can spray a batch of lures and turn around and spray another color almost imediately. As far as what I use, I like Dick Nite paints and I use a lot of taxidermy paint. The prices are quite reasonable. Be sure you use a good NIOSH approved mask. The fumes are the only disadvantage.

Muskysucker- I use acrylic paint because of the simplicity of the cleanup. I can spray a set of lures one color and be spraying the next color in a few seconds. As long as the airbrush is set right and a good water filter is used on the air compressor, I have no problems. For the final clearcoat I use a one part epoxy, Top Secret, that has a shelf life of two years. It's a slow drying epoxy that takes 48 hours to completely dry to a rock hard deep clear finish that will never yellow. Only drawback is it doesn't like humidity. Living on the Texas coast we have plenty of that so I bring the lures inside the house and turn on the dehumidifier.

Hope this helps!

I started with acrylic but just wasn't happy with their durability. I was reluctant about the cleanup of laquer but found that IMHO is was easier to clean than acrylic(for me, anyway)Now it's all I use.