CrazyFish

Devcon Pot Life

Guys, I'm an old rod builder and have been using a clear coat that gives me a long pot life so I can easily finish a rod before the clear coat starts to get to stiff to work with. I have tried this Devcon and find the pot life to be extremely short and, when working with 10 or more lures, just won't make it past 2 or 3 lures before I can't work with it. What do you use and, if you use Devcon, how do you extend the pot life?

CrazyFish

I extend the pot life by useing a drop or two of acetone. Make sure to mix very well. It might take longer to cure than strait devcon but it saves you epoxy. I am totally getting away from epoxy for clear coats cause the time it takes to brush on devcon i could dip 10 lures into laquer. I am ordering some dick nite lure coat. in the end it is cheaper and easier to use then epoxy.

I don't try to extend the pot life of Devcon, just mix enough for 2 baits at a time. Personally, I can't apply it faster and guarantee that I won't screw up the finish. If you want longer pot life, you might try Environtex Lite, a tabletop epoxy that contains solvent and has a longer pot and cure time, and produces a thinner topcoat. It's sold at most Michael's Hobby shops in 2 8oz bottles. Of course, there are also guys who swear by Flexcoat, Glass Coat and other thread epoxies, too. For ease of use and durability, though, Devcon is hard to beat IMO.

Well, I'll keep looking around for something. I am currently using the finish I use to clear coat my rods, but I am worried that the flexibility in the finish will mean that it won't be durable enough to hold up on a lure bouncing off limbs and rods and, of course, the hard strikes!