fatfingers

Ronco Rotisserie...

Just caught a bit of the infomercial for the Ronco Showtime Rotisserie. It is an oven device that cooks chunks of meat up to 15 pounds! Naturally, I immediately thought, "That would make a great motor for the bait wheel.":lol:

I'm tired of repairing the BBQ motors available at Walmart. Anyone know of a good reasonably price motor? I'm considering the Ronco, but I'd either have to hunt one down at a garage sale or pay the hefty shipping if I buy one on ebay. Then I'd have to strip the motor out of the thing.

Any ideas? Anyone use the Ronco Showtime motor?

It must be a sheer weight and/or balance deal that kills your Wal-Mart rotisserie motors: I've been using one of them for three years now, and it has a bunch of hours on it on it but it is still going strong. It is very seldom though that I have more than a half pound of evenly-distributed weight on it at one time. I do know that mine never runs hot, and I also use a very lightweight wheel system...and even if I'm turning just one lure, I'll counter-balance it. It does sound as though you need a heavier duty motor for your larger loads, Fatfingers.

Dean

FF, I found a right angle gear box that is very over kill for my baits. Something like that would be perfect for the big baits you turn. I don't know what one is used for, I was looking for a rotisserie motor and my Dad gave me that. It had some automotive grease/ oil on it so it was probably something for a tractor or something. I can't stop it with my hand it is so strong. It is reverseable, and I just hook a battery charger up to it and it runs great.