SmokeyJ

Tips on Making a Rat-L-Trap style lipless crank

Just joined the site, been prowling it for a couple weeks now. I tried using the search but couldn't find any info on how to make a rattling vibrating lipless crank, like a rat-l-trap or a lucky craft LV 500. Are these difficult to make? Where can you get patterns for them? If anyone knows of a website with a tutorial or something on making them, that would be awesome.

Also, since I am new to this, what are some easier style lures to start out with? Are poppers or prop-baits difficult? Also, does anyone sell the wobble plates jor jitterbug style topwaters? I know, a lot of questions, but any help on any of them would be greatly appreciated.

I've read a few comments on the board about wooden lipless cranks, you might do a search and see if a thread on it still exists. There are of course lots of sources for plastic unpainted lipless cranks if that's what you're after. staminainc.com, Jann's Netcraft are two. Topwaters are a good place to start since you don't have to worry about lips, lip angles, etc. Check out some of the tutorials and you'll find lots of "how to do it" information.

Well, I have some ideas on how I might make a trap style bait (when I get to that point), just thought I'd see if anyone had a proven method already. I think I will start off with some simpler topwaters. After I get a few under my belt, this Daiwa popper-prop combo looks pretty cool, although I would have to probably make the prop myself for one that small.

The Daiwa Mouthwasher is a cool bait but it has a lot of things going on with it that would make it a very tough first build. If you are going to build a topwater you might get a little more satisfaction making a Torpedo or Pop-R type bait. These types of baits are a little more forgiving when it comes to weighting and weight placement. Good luck with what ever you try and I hope you catch the fever like most of us have.