BrianB

Scales on a prototype bait?

I have a prototype swimbait that i carved out of PVC board that I want to make a mold of and make my baits out of a resin of some type. HOwever I would like to have a scale pattern of some type etched into the PVC board prototype before making a mold. You guys have any ideas which would be the best method to do this? By scales I mean small 8 inch Herring or gizzard or shad size scales.

Brian

Maybe you could make a plaster of paris (POP) mold first, line it with scale cloth, and then make a pour which would have the imprint, and then another final mold.

Getting the cloth to follow the shape of the mold without folds is probably the hardest part. If your swimbaits are flat sided, it shouldn't be too hard, but rounded bodies might be a challenge.

That's probably what I'd do. It sounds like a lot more work, but, if you're going through the trouble of making a master mold for a bait, it seems like, if this method worked, it would be worth it.

If I were doing it, I'd probably make a small POP test mold, and do the lining and pouring on that, to see if it would work.

Let us know how you finally solve this problem.

Edited by mark poulson

Mark, If I understand you correctly your method will give me a raised scale effect. I'm looking for a scale effect that is not raised. If you have seen some of Jerry Rago's work you will know what I am talking about. He uses netting to get the scale effect but I can't figure out how he got the netting not raised? By Not raised I mean the threads should be lower than the actual gap between the threads. Make sense? I think it needs to be the reverse of what you are saying but not sure how you reverse it.

Wrap netting around your proto and cover the netting with plaster, drywall compound or bondo. Cover the netting completely and uniformely. When it dries, sand the material down to the netting. If done properly you can remove the netting and you will have a nice scale pattern.