QiKsilver

Interested in Lure Making

Hi everyone,

I am interested in making my own lures. With winter coming in a few months I thought it might be a good idea to try making my own lures for the next season.

I fish pike mostly but also walleye and smallmouth. Next summer I want to try Musky.

So if you could point me to some "beginner" article to help me get started that would be great. I haven't found a whoe LOT of information on the internet but I am sure there is...

I know this may sound ambitious but I would like to make a pike imitation jointed bait as my first try. Something around 12-13" to hopefully get a record pike and attract large muskies.

I have a decent airbrush and my painting skills aren't bad since I've been doing scale modelling for a few years.

What are the basic equipment / products / hardware?

Sorry for my not so good english, I sure am trying hard.

Thanks!

As you are just starting out, I am not going to tell you to buy half the hardware stores tool infantry. I have managed perfectly well with just a Dremel mini drill and an assortment of attachments. Doesn't have to be dremel, but do not skimp on quality, the cheap drills will not last.

Tackleunderground - Search Results

The above link is a search result on 'tools dremel'. The list of results give a comprehensive selection of articles on tools and lure construction. Read through some of these and you will find most of the information you are looking for.

Other search words that will bring information are: sealing, top coat, devcon, etex, propionate, createx, nites, acrylic.

A final warning, lure building is addictive and there is no known cure, so beware and be safe.

Good luck.