fishcrazy

New bait design

I have designed a new bait for bass and northern. Its a combination of 2 baits that are on the market but when combined its unique. I have been using it for the last 2 years and with good success. I could patent them and produce them myself but my feelings are patents can be voided with little variation. I would like to approach a large company. Whats your opinions and any advice.:?

Mike

Man, have I been there and really feel for you. Just about any way you look at this, there are serious pitfalls and risks that should not be ignored. In my opinion, maybe 3% of the commerical lure designers are innovative and sincere in their search for a design overlooked by the industry-the other 97% lie in ambush waiting for those designers to unveil their next project. These bushwackers (because they are mostly a bunch of jerkoffs) also prey on the small, new designer who may or may not have the next hot bait.

The larger companies laugh at our meager attempt to protect our creative output with design patents. They know for the most part we do not have the money to back those patents up and they will challenge you if they feel your idea is market worthy.

I am not trying to discourage you-that is not my intent. By all means, if your bait is the next Microsoft, you owe it to the market to make it happen. My thinking is you should circulate your bait among people you trust and get their feedback. Run the test for a year or more and after that time if their results are as good or better than your results then maybe you have something. Then, without investing your life savings, have as many baits made as you can afford. Then with a well designed marketing plan, launch your bait with the intent of holding a corner on the market for as long as possible. (usually 6-8 months). By then the big boys will be on board and will try to swamp you. There a plenty examples of this out there. Most recently the chatterbait is one that comes to mind.