crotalus

Making Mold Masters?

I've been making my own hand carved lures for a few years on and off. I am now to the point where it is consuming me and I love it. I want to move from making wooden baits to molding my own from resin. I thought I would be able to just mold a carved wooden bait, but that has proved very difficult to make a perfect master. It is too much work to keep carving wood, messing it up, and then having to start all over. I was thinking maybe, get a bunch of dense styrofoam to carve? That way, baits can be quickly shaped and detailed, and if you mess it up, no big deal. The reason wood is so difficult is because I'm trying to make multi-segmented swimbaits with integrated hinges for joints. I was wondering how others have gone about this? Or even how big name lure companies go about making prototypes and how they shape their mold masters?

Thanks

Eric

To carve a perfect master for the molding process is difficult, even a plain master with no detail. Because it is going to be responsible for the appearance of hundreds or even thousands of your baits in the future, it deserves the time taken to get it absolutely right.

The master, as you rightly stated, does not have to be wood, can be of anything that you can carve and/or shape. If you choose to use wood, pick a timber that is easy to carve, like basswood or jelutong. A google search on "carving woods" will give you more suggestions.

Just because you get the lip crooked, no need to start over. Use some filler or inset another piece of wood. It is OK for the master to look like a patchwork quilt, how it looks is not important, it is how it casts.