MadManz

Buying Hooks

Guys,

I am very new to pouring my own jigs, but I am looking forward to it. As I have looked around here is some serious talent here, and I was hoping for advice.

is there a chart or a formula to tell me a hook is the same as another hook? For example.... my mold calls for a Eagle Claw 570. What if I want to pour that hook in red but cant find the exact style in red?

Brand is not important as much as wanting the hooks for my molds to be black/red. I didn't want to have to order hooks off of 3 or 4 diffrent sites, so can anyone lend me a hand?

Thanks

Listen to cadman, he knows what he is talking about!!! Barlows is the only site online that lists alternative hooks for the Do-it molds so if you go there you'll find which hook styles and brands you can use, there is alway a hook or two that you will be able use that won't be listed but just ask and somebody should help you out.

Listen to cadman, he knows what he is talking about!!! Barlows is the only site online that lists alternative hooks for the Do-it molds so if you go there you'll find which hook styles and brands you can use, there is alway a hook or two that you will be able use that won't be listed but just ask and somebody should help you out.

I have called Barlows many times. They are very helpful. They have actually pulled hooks out of bags and tried them in the mold I needed it for.

This is from tjstackle.com

In an ongoing effort to serve your "Do-It-Yourself" jig making needs we have decided to carry Eagle Claw Jig hooks. Eagle Claw 570 aberdeen jig hooks are used in many popular models of jig molds. Please make sure you know exactly what hooks fit your mold. Caution: HARMFUL IF SWALLOWED!!

570 Hook Specs:

Aberdeen, Round Bend, Non-Offset, 90 Degree Leg, Bronzed Finish, Straight Point, Forged

The 570 hook is compatible with the following hooks:

Daiichi: 4660 (Bronze), 4663 (Red)

VMC: 9147 BZ