wambeany

Thoughts On This Musky Crank

I was just wondering if anyone had any suggestions for me? I am new to bait building. Originally this one was built as a jerkbait, and never really liked how it turned out, I liked it even less when I tried using it (no action). So I thought I would try making it into a crankbait. Right now the bill is just sitting there, not epoxied yet. The lure is about 7.5" long and the bill is 1/8" aluminum and quite large. My questions are....

1) Does the lip angle look alright?

2) Should the line tie be moved down onto the bill?

3) if the line tie needs to be moved, any suggestions on anchoring it solidly into the lure body at this late stage in the game?

4) Is it worth my time and effort to even try converting it? if so any pointers on painting around my glass eyes for a repaint project?

Thanks in advance for any help. I really do enjoy reading everyone's post. This site is huge so if I missed some previous post on the subject I am sorry. The more time I spend on this website the more I realized just how little I know about lure building. I haven't posted very much so if my attachments are not correct, i will try to correct them as soon as possible

Thank You

Wambeany

musky lure 1.JPG

Musky lure 2.JPG

musky lure 1.JPG

Musky lure 2.JPG

musky lure 1.JPG

Musky lure 2.JPG

musky lure 1.JPG

Musky lure 2.JPG

musky lure 1.JPG

Musky lure 2.JPG

musky lure 1.JPG

Musky lure 2.JPG

musky lure 1.JPG

Musky lure 2.JPG

musky lure 1.JPG

Musky lure 2.JPG

post-20303-126395251968_thumb.jpg

post-20303-126395257941_thumb.jpg