BrownPigs

Help With Mold Making Materials

I am confused with all the options for silicone rubber. Alumilite has their quickset, high strength 2, and high strength 3. Smooth-on has Mold max 10, Mold max 20,...., Mold max 60. I am going to assume that the two companies have fairly similar performing products but what do all the numbers mean? I want to make mold of some baits I have carved out so that I can play with cutting the joints in different places and things like that.

Any help explaining these products would be greatly appreciated.

If you check the Alumilite and Smooth-on websites, they have product descriptions that you might find useful, and there are some pretty decent instructional videos on the web if you dig a around a bit. Like you, I'm just starting out in mold making, so I bought both the pourable stuff and some silicone mold putty to experiment with. One thing's for sure - none of that stuff's cheap.

If you check the Alumilite and Smooth-on websites, they have product descriptions that you might find useful, and there are some pretty decent instructional videos on the web if you dig a around a bit. Like you, I'm just starting out in mold making, so I bought both the pourable stuff and some silicone mold putty to experiment with. One thing's for sure - none of that stuff's cheap.

I called smooth on Monday with the same questions. They gave advice contrary to what some do on TU. They did not recommend oomoo 25 or 30 because they said it was too soft yet so many on TU are very happy with oomoo 25. They recommended shore hardness 30 and above to prevent tearing. For soft plastics they recommended Mold Max 30.