Hammy

What To Buy?

Got a gift card to gander mountain ($50)...I am new to making my own lures...I have bought some things (few hooks, clevis, and split rings) but what should i spend it on at gander mountain?

You might want to put it toward one of those plastic rainproof dog houses, since that's where you'll be living when your wife finally figures out that you've spent $1,000 to make a few $5 lures. (if you aren't married, give yourself a pat on the back)

Seriously, I haven't been in a Gander Mountain for a while, but I used to buy a lot of hooks from them. You can't have too many hooks, as long as they're the kind you'll end up using. Don't forget to check out the fly tying department - there might be something there that catches your eye and could prove useful. Have fun shopping.

Haha,

"wife finally figures out that you've spent $1,000 to make a few $5 lures". I was just thinking today at how much money I've spent getting set up to make my own baits. I could have bought quite a few lures by now! :lol:

You might want to put it toward one of those plastic rainproof dog houses, since that's where you'll be living when your wife finally figures out that you've spent $1,000 to make a few $5 lures. (if you aren't married, give yourself a pat on the back)

Seriously, I haven't been in a Gander Mountain for a while, but I used to buy a lot of hooks from them. You can't have too many hooks, as long as they're the kind you'll end up using. Don't forget to check out the fly tying department - there might be something there that catches your eye and could prove useful. Have fun shopping.

very true if only she knew how much i have already spent...getting married in may so i figure i better stock up now!

Are you going to be painting lures? If so, you could try some repaints to get practice in before you paint lures that are hand carved. I know Gander has some Rapala sales going on right now.