bluegrasslover

Number Of Bearings Question

Ok, this has been bothering me for some time. What does "8 bearings" actually mean? Let me clarify. If you buy a real that says 8 bearings and look at the exploded parts view, there are only 3 (at least on the reels I've seen). I've taken my reel apart for cleaning and if there were actually 8 bearings, I have no idea where they would be. Seems like every place that needs a bearing has one and 3 pretty much does it. Can someone shed some light on this? Is it just marketing crap?

Thanks,

Greg

Greg- I am no expert reel fixer, but like you I pull them apart, even a new one, and grease it before first use. I agree, some claim 14 bearings (never counted them), but I notice now the high end reels (spinning) are coming back to 4-6-8 bearings, some of them are so tiny they would cost as much as the reel if you had to buy them separately - There are a few late model cars coming out here (Korean) that actually have 'PUSH BUTTON START', and people think it's something revolutionary, and it's a real sales pitch, when 'T Model Fords' probably had it in the 1920's - 'How much can a Koala bear'??? How old am I???? Pete

There are often 6 "extra" ball bearings that drive the bearing count, and price up on many baitcasting reels, and these bearings are neither load-bearing, nor are they necessary for a smooth functioning reel. 2 of these bearings are typically at either end of the worm gear, which helps makes the line guide go back and forth, and the other 4 bearings are inside of your handle grips.

Shimano, having always been an industry leader with their baitcasters often do not use bearings in these locations, and other manufactures attempt to use this fact as a marketing gimmick, dropping a strong hint that their brand reels are higher quality because they use more bearings and yet cost no more than a particular Shimano model.