504BASSMASTER

Beginning Hard Bait Making

Hello Everyone,

I am new to Tackle Underground and will like to find out some good video or book resources to show me how to begin making hard baits. Can anyone reccomend some good resources to me. I am a Wounded Warrior with plenty time on my hands due to my injuries and want to fill some of that empty time building baits. Thank everyone in advance for their suggestions.

504 BASSMASTER

504BASMASTER,

First of all, thank you for all you've done for all of us. It is appreciated, and recognized for the sacrifice it is.

Second, I would recommend you google lure making videos. That's a good way to see what's out there, in commercial terms.

The search feature on this site will lead to hours of reading and resources.

It would help us to know what kind of lures you want to make.

Cranks, topwaters, swimbaits, the list goes on and on, and each has it's own quirks, which we would be happy to try and help you with.

We've probably made most of the mistakes that can be made already, and I'm sure all of us would look forward to a chance to repay, in some small part, your service to us with our help.

Edited by mark poulson

504, Go here: http://www.tackleunderground.com/community/forum/48-hardbait-how-to/ for some member submitted tutorials on crankbait construction. For specific questions, use the little Search bar (upper right hand of the page). Just type in a subject and you will get a bunch of info and opinions on 'how to do it'. TU has been up and running for several years and there are thousands of questions/answers available. I can't think of a subject that hasn't been covered in depth! Welcome to the circus :)

What kind of wood or material have you been making your lures out of?

As for air brush kits, there are a lot of websites that sell air brushes and all the accessories.

Here's on, but I'm not endorsing it over any others. It's just one that has a lot of stuff, and will give you an overview of what's available.